The 18th Annual Dakota Five-O will be held on Sunday, September 2nd,  2018!

Registration will open on April 1st, at 7am mtn time.

17th Annual Dakota Five-O     2017 Results  

In its 17th year, the Dakota Five-O continues to entice riders from across the country.  From the pristine, handbuilt singletrack that graces much of the course, to the high spirited after party, riders are impressed with the event and the beautiful town of Spearfish in which it is held.

This year's race graced us with cooler temps than predicted, but it was still hot out there for riders finishing over the 5 hour mark.  On course riders were graced with 3 aid stations and one 'Bacon Station', which was so named, as over 60lbs of bacon is handed off to riders passing through or stopping in for a rest.  After the ride, everyone who participated was offered a free plate of food and many fine beers, courtesy of Barbacoa's Burritos and Crow Peak brewery.  There was also plenty of live music to enjoy throughout the day.

This year Corey Stelljes from Madison, Wisconsin took home his third title with the mens win and a time of  3:34:47, while Christy Olsen from Casper, WY took the womens win for the second year in a row, with a time of 4:21:08.  Over $30,000 in cash and prize merchandise was given away to overall winners and other race participants lucky enough to have their name drawn at the prize raffle.   Sram/Quarq threw down some top notch prizes, which included a Rock Shox fork for both the mens and womens overall winners.  The prize table was also overflowing with Twin Six jerseys and T's, Dirt Bags bikepacking bags, Sram Products, Saint Dakota T's, Black Hills Optical sunglasses, and Bad Idea Event Five-O hats.  There were also many great givaways from our local sponsors, Strider Bikes, Two Wheeler Dealer, Acme Bicycles, and Rushmore Mountain Sports.   A big thanks goes out to Barbacoas and Crow Peak Brewing, for serving up some great grub and drink, post race.  And finally, a huge shout out goes to Les Heiserman for designing another amazing, Five-O logo for this year's Don't Fret It, Shred It T-shirt. Here's to 17 years of the Dakota Five-O!


Perry Jewett, member
Ridge Riders of the Black Hills, LLC